The Zero Hour

Reviews, rants and oddities on video game and film culture.

Alexis Jordan – Happiness

Mmm mmm mmm mmm (4x)
I gotta turn this car around
I never should have left you there

So you like left a guy in the middle of nowhere, for no real reason…nice. Though it’s probably a metaphor for leaving someone high and dry. Either way, you’re a douche.

Boy this traffic is making me sick

Filler line.

Boy I can’t wait to have you near

After leaving him/breaking his heart…he is going to love you…

I gotta hurry hurry hurry
Now quick quick quick
Just step on the gas cause I don’t wanna miss this
This opportunity will only come once in my life, my life

What? Leaving someone for dead?

I gotta hurry hurry hurry
Now quick quick quick

Filler.

Just step on the gas cause I don’t wanna miss this
See what your bringin me boy is priceless
I gotta be out of my mind not to try this

…so she’s going back to the guy and wants a second chance. This comes across as incredibly selfish and non-sensical.

Through strength I found love
In time I found myself in happiness with you (x2)

I don’t get the relevance of this in relation to the rest of the song, it feels like plucking words out the air for no real reason.

Mmm mmm mmm mmm (4x)

Boy I need to say what’s in my heart
I was scared but I’ll do my part
I came back to tell you face to face
So what we have won’t go to waste

It still all comes back to you changing your mind. This is really very 1 dimensional here and I’m already bored.

I gotta hurry hurry hurry
Now quick quick quick
Just step on the gas cause I don’t wanna miss this
This opportunity will only come once in my life, my life Yeah

I just don’t understand the rush, is the speaker worried that the guy is going to move on, or die or what?

Sorry sorry sorry I’m coming down to fix this
You should know how I feel I know I got you twisted

AT LAST! REGRET!

See what your bringin me boy is priceless
I gotta be out of my mind not to try this

Through strength I found love
In time I found myself in happiness with you (2x)

The things that you can give to me
I can feel it when your holding me close
You’re like one of those “i wonders”
I know I’m going under
Come see that I’m ready for this
And you’re so good for me
You’re my true joy

You make me wanna say

Mmm mmm mmm mmm (4x)

Sigh…


Through strength I found love
In time I found myself in happiness with you (2x)

This may seem incredibly short this week. There is good reason for this and that is simply this. THERE IS. SO. MUCH. FILLER. The song constantly re-uses the same lines, there’s almost nothing to analyse more than once, half the lines could be taken out and the context would still be the same story of the speaker wanting to go back to the person she betrayed or left or whatever, it’s not given any depth, it’s literally, “I left a guy, realised I love him, so I went back to him” it’s boring, it’s annoying and it has no reason to even be recorded. It’s effectively the pop equivalent of lift music, dull to listen to, and background noise that’s only on to avoid the sound of silence in an elevator that’s instantly forgettable.

One response to “Alexis Jordan – Happiness

  1. Jack 16/11/2011 at 16:19

    You couldn’t have summarized my thoughts about this song – and the crappy overrated high-pitched non-artist behind it – better! 🙂

Leave a Reply

