The Zero Hour

Reviews, rants and oddities on video game and film culture.

The Time (Dirty Bit) – The Black Eyed Peas

I’ve had the time of my life
And I’ve never felt this way before
And I swear this is true
And I owe it all to you

Ok, so we start off with the bit from that famous song from Dirty Dancing. It’s pretty standard and nothing special apart from there’s some dancy synthy stuff in the background.

I’ve had the time of my life
And I’ve never felt this way before
And I swear this is true
And I owe it all to you
You-you-you-you-you
You-you-you-you-you
You-you-you-you-you-you-y-y-y-y-you

Oh god, 3 lines of one word? This is the exact moment where someone realises that a classic 80’s song is about to be butchered and their face slowly changes from a grin to a look of horror. Like this;


Yep, I got Veitnam flashbacks listening to this song as well…

Dirty bit
Dirty bit

Is that necessary?


I-I came up in here to rock
Light a fire, make it hot

That’s how fire works.

I don’t wanna take no pictures
I just wanna take some shots
So come on, let’s go
Let’s lose control
Let’s do it all night
‘Til we can’t do it no mo’
People rockin’ to the sound
Turn it up and watch it pound
We gon’ rock it to the top
Until the roof come burnin’ down
Yeah, it’s hot in herrre

Songs ripped off: 2

The temperaturrre
Has got these ladies
Gettin’ freakierrr

I’m not sure where to begin with this whole section…It’s all about clubbing, like pretty much every Black Eyed Peas song of the past 2 years, and has out vocalist saying there’s a correlation between the temperature and the girls getting aroused…or something, I’m not sure what the definition of “freaky” is in this sense.


I got freaky, freaky, baby
I was chillin’ with my ladies
I didn’t come to get bougie
I came here to get crazy
I was born to get wiiild
That’s my styyyle
If you didn’t know that
Well, baby, now you know now

After 5 singles of basically the same bullcrap, I think EVERYONE knows now.

‘Cause I’m!
Havin’!
A good! Time!
With you!

AND I’M!
NOT!


I’m tellin’ you
I’ve had the time of my life
And I’ve never felt this way before
And I swear this is true
And I owe it all to you
I’ve had the time of my life
And I’ve never felt this way before
And I swear this is true
And I owe it all to you
You-you-you-you-you
You-you-you-you-you

You-you-you-you-you-you-y-y-y-y-you

*Applies hammer to face in time with that bass*


Dirty bit
Dirty bit

Still no. The synthy dancey…thing isn’t that heavy or dirty, it’s just…sounds like a drill.

All-all these girls, they like my swagger
They callin’ me Mick Jagger

Swagger and Mick Jagger…I’ve heard this in a song before…

Songs ripped off: 3

I be rollin’ like a Stone
Jet-setter, jet-lagger
We ain’t messin’ with no maggots
Messin’ with the baddest
Chicks in the club
Honey, what’s up?

Mirror, mirror on the wall
Who’s the baddest of them all?
Yeah, it’s gotta be the apl
I’m the mack daddy, y’all
Haters better step back
Ladies (don’t load your act)
I’m the party application
Rockin’ just like that

This is just uninspired writing, it’s like one of those guys that claims to be amazing at getting girls but fails everytime. I’m just bored listening to it.

‘Cause I’m!
Havin’!
A good! Time!
With you!
I’m tellin’ you
I-I-I-I’ve had
The time of my li-i-ife
And I’ve never felt this way before-fore
And I swear-wear
This is tru-u-ue
And I owe it all to you-ou
Oh, I-I-I-I’ve had
The time of my li-i-i-ow
And I’ve never felt this way before-fore
And I swear-wear
This is tru-u-ue
And I owe it all to you-ou
I-I-I-I’ve had
The time of my li-i-ife
And I’ve never felt this way before-fore
And I swear-wear
This is tru-u-ue
And I owe it all to you-ou
Oh, I-I-I-I’ve had
The time of my li-i-i-ow
And I’ve never felt this way before-fore
And I swear-wear
This is tru-u-ue
And I owe it all to you-ou
Dirty bit.

And we end with Will.i.am (because no-one else in their right mind would listen to this and go, yeah this is good) basically going mental with vocoders and voice effects and going “This sounds cool” when really it’s just incredibly annoying. This song is just an incredibly tiresome, irritating shameful excuse of a single that doesn’t need to exist, Time Of My Life was already a good song and you could have just switched the drum beat to make it more dance friendly or whatever, not re-record it and basically drop a turd on peoples nostalgia. I’ll admit I’m not the biggest fan of dance or R&B music and I’ve heard people say this song’s amazing in a club, but I’m not reviewing this song based on wether it’s great when you’re off your face on Vodka or E or whatever people do in clubs these days, so if you want to dance to it and enjoy it that way, fine, I’ll just change the station.

Leave a Reply

