The Zero Hour

Reviews, rants and oddities on video game and film culture.

Cheryl Cole – The Flood

Turn the lights out, in the light house,

Ok, I quite like this opening, it’s simple, it’s quite nice. Haven’t heard any lyrics about lighthouses in a long time…hell, I’ve not heard anything about Lighthouses since The Lighthouse Family all those years ago…

I saw you coming,
Felt the ship wreck

Ok, maybe turning the lighthouse off wasn’t the smartest move after all…

Saw the wreckage, I heard you yelling,
Just a mess when I saw your reflection in the sand,

Pretty sure you can’t have a reflection in the sand…pretty sure it doesn’t work that way.

Wondering where you were washed up,
Or I ran to the water, Mmmmm,

Mmmmm? What? Also, it’s worth noting that there’s been no rhyming yet, unless you count coming and yelling (Oh god, I’m having those flashbacks again…). Whilst it’s not necessary to have every second line rhyme, it’s a common enough convention in pop music for it to seem stranger when it’s not used, but judging by previous Cheryl Cole/Girls Aloud tracks, this is probably better. I’m looking at you “Something Kinda Oooh/Jumping on my tutu” Yeah, not really excusable.

I can put my hands down in it,
But I won’t bring nothing up,
Sitting at the shore all day, waiting on the tide to come

But you can’t hold on to water,
It fills you up but never stays,
It’s only good to wash away,

Mainstream pop, ballad or no ballad should NEVER try to be pseudo-intellectual. It just sounds wrong and in no way makes the singer seem deep, we all know she hasn’t written this song.

Today and your loving me like water,
You’re slipping through my fingers touch,
Natural disaster love, bringing on the flood,

I promised myself I would get through this without making a joke about the falling apart of Cheryl Cole’s marriage, but lines like “You’re slipping through my fingers and natural disaster love” it’s like she’s reaching out and going “Go on, I DARE YOU,”

The flood,
Love me like a flood, the flood,
Bring it on,

“Bring it on” That feels quite out of context to the rest of the song, especially at the end, I suppose it’s a reference to the “Bringing on” a line or two before, but still…

Stay the night out, by the beach house,
It’s oh so quiet,

Hang on, so you found the guy? That’s good.

Lit a candle,
By the window, so you might find it,
Hope you know you’ll always have a place to call your home,
Still I can’t help but think I could have saved you from drowning,

Oh.

Ohhh, oh,

My thoughts exactly. This is pretty dark…I mean, isn’t her demographic, like…well, anyone (mostly women though) that watches The X Factor? INCLUDING CHILDREN?

I can put my hands down in it, yeah,
But I won’t bring nothing up,

Sitting on the shore all day
Just waiting on the tide to come,

forever alone.

But you can’t hold on to water,
It fills you up but never stays,
It’s only good to wash away,
Today and your loving me like water,
You’re slipping through my fingers touch,
Natural disaster love, bringing on the flood,
The flood,
Love me like a flood, the flood,
Bring it on,

I knew the waves were icy, when I felt them all retreating,
Went to take a dive in the deep end,
Oh, what was I thinking?

Yes, talk me through that in more detail, oh wait, is it time for the chorus again already?

But you can’t hold on to water,
It fills you up but never stays,
It’s only good to wash away,
Today and your loving me like water,
You’re slipping through my fingers touch,
Natural disaster love, bringing on the flood,
The flood,
Love me like a flood, the flood,
Bring it on,
Ohohohoh Ohohohoh
Rising and falling in my dreams,
Rising and the falling of my tears that fill the ocean, (the ocean, the ocean)

Well, that was absolutely miserable, it’s about someone drowning, not being there to save them and regretting it for what seems like eternity. I expect this stuff from White Lies, not the less pointy headed face of ITV’s flagship talent show. Now, I have some memories I have to drink away…

One response to “Cheryl Cole – The Flood

  1. janeyquiel 28/01/2011 at 21:17

    I agree with your assumption.

Leave a Reply

