The Zero Hour

Reviews, rants and oddities on video game and film culture.

Jason Derulo – Solo

Yeeeeeyeeeah, yeah, yeah, yeah,
I’m feeling like a star, you can’t stop my shine,
I’m loving cloud nine, my head’s in the sky,
I’m solo, I’m riding solo,
I’m riding solo, I’m ridin solo, sooloooo.

We kick off with this quite upbeat positive start. It’s pretty obvious he’s in a good mood, why? Maybe he’s discovered the joys of the game Braid or something…


Yeah, I’m feeling good tonight, finally doing me and it feels so right, oh,
Time to do the things I like,
going to the club everything’s alright, oh,

Finally doing me…OH HANG ON. I think this songs about saying hello to his one eyed monster…well, it makes sense….let’s just hope he put it away before going to the club or else that could get nasty.


No one to answer to,
no one that’s gonna argue, no,
And since I got the hold off me,
I’m living life now that I’m free, yeah,

Right, here he feels relived that he’s no longer in a relationship and can take control of his own life. I guarantee he’ll be buying inappropriate shopping in no time!

Telling me to get my shit together
now I got my shit together, yeah,
Now I made it through the weather
better days are gonna get better

Yeah, that’s generally how better days work…


I’m so sorry that it didn’t work out I’m moving on,
I’m so sorry but it’s over now,
the pain is goooone,

Read as: You know what, I’m happier without you, you caused me misery, now I can do what I want!!!


I’m putting on my shades
to cover up my eyes,
I’m jumpin’ in my ride,
I’m heading out tonight,
I’m solo, I’m riding solo,
I’m riding solo, I’m riding solo, sooloooo.

If he’s so confident, why does he need to put on shades? Surely, he’d want everyone to see how happy he is when he struts his stuff and bask in the glory of Derulo or whatever…

I’m feeling like a star, you can’t stop my shine,
I’m loving cloud nine, my head’s in the sky.
I’m solo, I’m riding solo,
I’m riding solo, I’m riding solo, sooloooo.

I think he likes riding solo…

Now I’m feeling how I should,
never knew single could feel this good, oh,
Stop playing miss understood,
back in the game, who knew I would, oh,
So flex how I spread my wings, loving myself makes me wanna sing, oh,
Oh yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah,

Blah blah blah happy that he’s single, we’ve been over this already…


Telling me to get my shit together
now I got my shit together, yeah,
Now I made it through the weather
better days are gonna get better

Oh wow, it’s the musical equivalent of  “I said I was going to do this, now I have” dull and pointless lyrics there.

I’m so sorry that it didn’t work out I’m moving on,
I’m so sorry but it’s over now,
the pain is goooone,

YEAH BITCH!

I’m putting on my shades
to cover up my eyes,
I’m jumpin’ in my ride,
I’m heading out tonight,
I’m solo, I’m riding solo,
I’m riding solo, I’m riding solo, sooloooo.
I’m feeling like a star, you can’t stop my shine,
I’m loving cloud nine, my head’s in the sky.
I’m solo, I’m riding solo, I’m riding solo, I’m riding solo, sooloooo.
I’m riding solo, I’m riding solo, sooloooo

yeah it’s like S… O… L… O…
S… O… L… O… S… O… L… O…
Living my life and got stress no more,


I’m putting on my shades
to cover up my eyes,
I’m jumpin’ in my ride,
I’m heading out tonight,
I’m solo, I’m riding solo,
I’m riding solo, I’m riding solo, sooloooo.
I’m feeling like a star, you can’t stop my shine,
I’m loving cloud nine, my head’s in the sky.
I’m solo, I’m riding solo, I’m riding solo, I’m riding solo, sooloooo.
I’m riding solo, I’m riding solo, sooloooo

I’m riding solo, sooloooo,
I’m riding solo, sooloooo.

23 times he repeats the word solo in these sections. I think he likes being single, but I could be mistaken…

Oh hey, end of the song.  Well, that was tedious.

Leave a Reply

