The Zero Hour

Reviews, rants and oddities on video game and film culture.

Willow Smith – Whip My Hair

6 months ago, I had no idea Will Smith even had a daughter, now she’s everywhere. She’s even been on NME’s cool list and was interviewed by the magazine a few weeks back, giving us the quote of the year “famousness is awesomeness, but some parts of famousness can be hardousness” Oh, did I mention she’s 10 years old? Whilst that quote sounds kind of cute, her debut single is anything but; ladies and gentlemen. I present; Whip My Hair. This is not going to be easyousness.

I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (just whip it)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (whip it real good)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth

Ok, so we start with the chorus, I hope you like this line because…well…there’s a lot of this. There’s not really much to explain here, it’s just basically hair whipping…back and forth…what?

Hop up out the bed turn my swag on
Aint no sense listining to them haters cuz we whip em off
And we aint doing nothing wrong
So dont tell me nothing, i’m just tryna have fun
So keep the party jumping

Haters? Swag on? SHE’S 10 YEARS OLD. 10 year olds shouldn’t be talking like a gang member in downtown LA. Basically, I think here, the author is trying to ignore people who don’t like what she’s doing, because she’s not doing anything wrong and is trying to have some fun and keep the party jumping. Obviously, I assume she’s referring to a game of pass The parcel.

So whats up (yea)
And i’ll be doing what to do
We turn our back
And we walk over and just shake them off
Shake them off, shake them off,shake them off

I assume this whole line can be literally translated as “ignore their bigoted comments”

Don’t let haters keep me off my grind
Keep my head up and I know i’ll be fine
Keep fighting until I (yea)
Am down and I feel like giving up

Wha…grind…isn’t that like a gyration based dance move often performed with a member of the opposite sex in a club? Urban dictionary gives the definition as the following;
“1. When a drug dealer is running around town buying/selling drugs. “Hey, I cant go right now, im on the grind.” Well, that’s disturbing…

You know what, when I started writing this piece, I was thinking this was just an annoying pop song from someone whose basically mostly famous because her family is incredibly well connected, but actually reading these lyrics, it does come across as a “Be true to yourself, don’t let what anyone says bring you down” and it’s kind of refreshing in this day and age.

I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (just whip it)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (whip it real good)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (just whip it)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (whip it real good)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (just whip it)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (whip it real good)

Ok, forget I said anything remotely positive.

I’m going get more shine than a little bit
Soon as I hit the stage applause iam hearing it
Weather its black stars black cars iam feeling it
But no other do it like I do
I, I gets it in hmmm yea I go hard
When they see me pull up I whip it real hard
I whip it real hard,real hard,i whip it real hard
Don’t let haters keep me off my grind
Keep my head up and I know i’ll be fine
Keep fighting until I (yea)
Am down and I feel like giving up

Genericlyricsaboutdancing#40388430201

I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (just whip it)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (whip it real good)
I whip my hair back and forth

I whip my hair back and forth (just whip it)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (whip it real good)

I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (just whip it)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (whip it real good)

I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (ok, ok just whip my hair)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (whip it real good)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (ok, ok just whip my hair)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (whip it real good)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (ok, ok just whip my hair)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth

24 times. The chorus was repeated 24 times in that last section. I’m all for catchy choruses, but this is overkill. I don’t really know why she’s so keen on whipping her hair back and forth, I tried it whilst writing this and it hurt my neck.

Ladies if you feel me
Do it do it whip your hair
Dont’ matter if its long, short
Do it do it whip your hair

YEAH! FEMALE EMPOWERMENT!

Ladies if you feel me
Come on do it do it whip your hair
Dont’ matter if its long, short
Do it do it whip your hair (your hair, your hair)

YEAH! FEMALE EMPOW…wait…

I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (just whip my hair)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (whip it real good)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (just whip my hair)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (whip it real good)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (just whip my hair)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (whip it real good)

Oh for…

I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (just whip it)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (whip it real good)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (just whip it)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (whip it real good)

And I end this in tears with the chorus reverberating in my head not unlike the aftershock of smacking my head against a brick wall, coincidently listening to this song and hitting my head against cemented mortar have both left me crying with a headache. It’s just so repetitive. It’s just so repetitive. It’s just so repetitive. It’s just so repetitive. It’s just so repetitive. It’s just so repetitive. It’s just so repetitive. It’s just so repetitive. It’s just so repetitive. It’s just so repetitive. There’s some nice lyrics in there about just being yourself and to ignore haters (they’re gonna hate) which are nice and considering the vocalist, it does send a good message to children, but it’s lost under an annoying chorus, which I might have mentioned is repetitive, so no-one will think twice about it.

Leave a Reply

