The Zero Hour

Reviews, rants and oddities on video game and film culture.

Casual Film watching

Ok, that title is pretty bad and probably doesn’t sell my point very well, so hear me out. I’ve recently moved to university and we almost religously watch films, I’ve seen more films in the past 2 weeks per average than…god knows. Of course, I’m actually studying film studies, so you know, why not? But then I thought about it, this is a short list of films we’ve watched (because I’ve probably forgotten a few)

The Hangover
How To Lose Friends And Alienate People
Hairspray
Wanted
Mamma Mia
Iron Man

Now, I think you’ll all agree that although many are very good films (Mamma Mia being the obvious exception) the thing is, they’re very mainstream. I haven’t a problem with this, but then I realised all the people I’m watching these films with are, as I’ve just made up, “casual film watchers” and all the films I brought with me to Uni, are not causal filmwatcher suitable movies. What’s a casual film watcher? Well, let me make it up, explain;

A casual film watcher is your average joe. Before you go, “You watch movies, you’re a casual film watcher,” Well, yes and no. I was a casual film watcher, these are people who we all start out being, but then sometimes one film comes along all innocently like a girl who secretly has an STD and attacks one unlucky person, making them decide “fuck it, I want to do this as a living and spread it like a disease” making them more suspectible to films in general, ripping them apart and analysing every last detail and getting a sexual thrill out of it when they find out they were right about the foreshadowing in act 2. You find someone who either makes films or is ridicously into films and if they say they don’t watch film critically, they’re lying.

A casual film watcher is someone who will go to the cinema and will just watch a film. That’s it. They’re not that fussed about what they see, as long as
1.) Someone else has seen it and liked it
2.) it has that big name actor in it
3.) they can escape their horrible job watching it.
4.) They can understand what’s going on.

They’re the reason why certain films are popular and because they’re the people who buy the bulk of ticket sales, there’d be no movie industry about them, so saying anything remotely negative is completely dumb. But my main point here is this; Can you imagine someone who has spent most of their movie based lives watching
He’s Not That Into You, Happy Feet, The Notebook and Dear John to willingly sit down and watch Citizen Kane, Blade-Runner, American Beauty or even Star Wars? No. Because they just wouldn’t enjoy it as much as a film fanatic would.

And that’s my dilemna and why my films won’t be appreciated by anyone but me. (If you’re interested, the films I bought are…)

Citizen Kane
Star Wars III-V (don’t have VI on DVD yet)
Serenity
Grave Of The Fireflies
THX 1138
Juno
Moon
The Simpsons Movie
Blade Runner
There Will Be Blood
American Beauty
Hot Fuzz
In Bruges
KiKi’s Delivery Service
My Neighbour Totoro
The Shining
Zombie Land

So yeah…

One response to “Casual Film watching

  1. movies blog 04/10/2010 at 17:11

    nice infor for movies thanks

Leave a Reply

