The Zero Hour

Reviews, rants and oddities on video game and film culture.

Pop review #1: The Top 10

I’m quite a big music fan and as such, I’m really open to a lot of musical styles, my iPod boasts Rock, Indie, pop, classical, Hip hip and Video game music to name a few genres. However, the other day I thought do you know what would be fun, looking at what’s popular in music and analyzing it. So I started a new feature called Pop Review. Here I look at current musical trends and pit them agaisnt each other in a bloody battle royale for the best song. Today our subject is: The top 10.

The Official Singles Chart has been a staple of the British Music Industry for sometime, of course, in recent years it’s fallen out of favour and the single as a format is all but dead, however after allowing download sales to count, it feels reborn, but odd. Especially when you consider that ANYTHING can be downloaded, Jeff Buckley’s Halleujah is a good example. It was originally released in the early ’90’s, however last christmas it had a surge in popularity leading it to n0 2 behind…Halleujah by Alexandra Burke. Anyway, that’s not the point, let’s get cracking with this.

10. Young Soul Rebels – I Got Soul

This is a charity single by a collaboration of artists. It’s a cover of The Killers All These Things I’ve Done and it’s not bad, but at the same time. There’s nothing wow about it. Bland. Bland. Bland. Bland. I’ll give it some merit because it’s a charity single

7/10

9. Michael Buble – Haven’t Met You Yet

Swing music. Seriously? It’s not 1962 anymore. I thought the last track was bland, but this…wow. All is forgiven Young Soul whatever…This is the kind of music “Your mum likes” and is found in every corner of Tesco’s. The album’ll sell loads by Christmas, so buy a copy for your mum, she’ll like it, but you won’t.

4/10

8. Jay Z – Empire State Of Mind

Now this is pretty good. I love Alicia Key’s chorus line, don’t feel anything from the lyrics, but then I didn’t really like New York that much. But a really strong song here, I’m worried the more it’s listened to the more I’ll detest it but for now…

9/10

7. The Black Eyed Peas – I Gotta Feeling

You all know this one, right? It’s that song you heard at a party, where you were all dancing meerily. It sounds better when you’re drunk. It’s just bouncy, there’s not much else I can say about it, other than the line
“Fill up my cups/Mozzeltauf” Is awful…really awful…I think Will.I.Am has really gone downhill over the past few years, I’ve never been a fan of BEP, but tracks like Don’t Phunk With My Heart where at least fun and knew they were stupid. Whereas here, they’re just bad.

4/10

6. Taio Cruz – Break Your Heart

Ahhh, It’s time for average American R&B tune of the week. Oh He’s British? Cool. That bumped this up to a 6.

6/10

5. Whitney Houston – Million Dollar Bill

Ok, now this is the average American R&B tune of the week, althoguh it’s Whitney Houston, drugged up* living legend on a comeback. The song isn’t bad, but again, It’s pretty average and it doesn’t make me feel anything.

5/10

*I’d like to point out, Whitney Houston, at leat to my knowledge, isn’t currently on drugs, so…yeah. Don’t claim this a reliable source.

4. Bodies – Robbie Williams

No. Just no.

0/10

3. Chipmunk – Oopsy Daisy

If we were playing, guess the British Rapper in the chart, You’ve just won a prize, it urks me that British rapper have to use “Englishisms” as a gimmick just to show a wide audience that they’re not American. It sounds like I’m putting down British R&B/Hip hop, which isn’t my intention, I do believe we have some thing to show, but it’s not this. Any song that has a female warbling “I’m a walking disaster is pretty horrible,”

4/10

2. Alexandra Burke – Bad Boys

Didn’t expect this as the comeback for last years X Factor winner. I have a  bit of respect for her for coming back and not following in the footsteps of Leona, the other one, the one before…and actually getting her foot in the door, you can’t move for seeing her on TV at the moment. The song itself is catchy, really catchy. I think it’s Xenomania composed (so that’ll explain it…) which is never a bad thing. It’s not something I would willingly listen to and Flo Rida (whose lyrics I wasn’t to keen on before…) seems to have written his part in about 5 minutes on a lunchbreak, but it’s a pretty solid song. Just try to resist the temptation to sing the theme from Cops at the end.

7/10

1. Cheryl Cole – Fight For This Love

Ah. Cheryl. She can’t do anything wrong. She appeared in a reality show, the nation loved her, she appeared as part of a girl group, the nation loved her more than the other 4. She got married to a footballer, suddenly no-one gave shit about Posh Spice (Hurray!). She became a judge on another reality show, the natio…you get the idea. She was always bound for more success than the rest of Girls Aloud and now, she’s got it. This is the fastest selling single of the year. And for good reason. Again, despite the fact I quite like Girls Aloud, this isn’t something I would listen to willingly, but it is a brilliant pop tune. However it does keep the pretty bad lyrics of Girls Aloud, which stops it becoming a perfect pop song. (“Now everyday’s no picnic/It won’t be no walk in the park”. Ouch…) I can see why people are enjoying this, it does hit some points (“What’s worth having is worth fighting for”) that I can see people really believing in. I think though it doesn’t really show off potential skill that she obviously has, and that’ll be the real test for the future.

8/10

Leave a Reply

