The Zero Hour

Reviews, rants and oddities on video game and film culture.

Analysing Pop Songs: Flo Rida – Right Round

Flo Rida – Right Round

Before I begin, this is all supposed to be taken as a bit of fun, I have no idea what the actual meaning of these lyrics are. Right then everyone, this is the first of my “songs I don’t like lyric session” I look at the words to a song and break them down to give you sense of what the hell the artist is on about. First of all, I give you number #1 hit Flo Rida with his Dead Or Alive sampled Right Round, as it’s everywhere at the moment.


You spin my head right round, right round

When you go down, when you go down down
You spin my head right round, right round
When you go down, when you go down down

Ok, first of all, I’m pretty certain this relates to the act of Fellatio, which immediately creeps me out somehow and makes me wonder how this got to number 1.

Hey
Hopped out of that house with my swagger
Hop in that with girl, I got places to go!

Well, this relates to him leaving a house, maybe his, maybe not. But he’s clearly in a rush to go somewhere, as the song progress’, let’s find out.

People to see, time is precious
I look at my crowd and they out of control

Again, he’s still in a rush, but apparently he’s at his own show, how rude of him to abandon his fans to see people.

Just like my mind where I’m going
No women, no shorties, no nothin but clothes
No stoppin now, my Pirellis on role
I like my jewelry, that’s always on gold
I know the storm is comin
my pockets keep tellin me it’s gonna shower
Call up my homies that’s home
Then pop in the night cuz it’s meant to be ours
We keep a fade away shot cuz we ballin
it’s platinum patron that be ours
Lil mama, I owe you just like the flowers
Girl you the **** with all that goodies’ powers

Ok, I have no idea what’s going on here…

From the top of the pole I watch her go [down]
She got me throwin my money a[round]
Ain’t nothin more beautiful to be [found]
It’s goin down down.

I’m going by the assumption that he’s now in a strip club, wow this song really tells one hell of a story….

From the top of the pole I watch her go [down]
She got me throwin my money [around]
Ain’t nothin more beautiful to be [found]
It’s goin down down.

So good, he has to say it twice….

Hey

Shawty must know I’m not playin
My money love her like a numba one fan
Don’t look at my mouth, let her talk to my fans
My Benjamin Frank-a-lins
A couple of grands, I got rubber bands

Ok, so he’s giving someone some money, which he’s happily showing off.

My paper planes makin a dance

Does anyone have any idea what this means?

Apparently according to Urban dictionary a paper plane in hip-hop terms is a demand for civil liberties and rights. So put into the correct lines, it’s my civil liberites and rights making a dance. Ok, that makes less sense than what was before…

Get dirty all night, that’s part of my thing
Keep building castles that’s made out of sand

Keep building sandcastles? Someone tell me what’s going on…

She’s amazing, the fire blazing
Hotter than Cajun

Basically the girl is pretty attractive….


Girl won’t you move a lil closer?

Time to get paid, it’s maximum wage

Oh my god, she’s a prostitute, WHAT A TWIST.


That body belong on a poster

I’m in a daze, that bottom is wavin’ at me
Like da** it, I know you
You wanna show like a gun out of holster
Tell me whatever and I’ll be your roper

I think this whole section maybe related to prostitution. Wow, how poetic, it’s like Roxanne by The Police never happened….

You spin my head right round, right round

When you go down, when you go down down
You spin my head right round, right round
When you go down, when you go down down

Again with the chorus.

From the top of the pole I watch her go [down]
She got me throwin my money [around
Ain’t nothin more beautiful to be [found]
It’s goin down down
From the top of the pole I watch her go [down]
She got me throwin my money a[round]
Ain’t nothin more beautiful to be [found]
It’s goin down down

Back at the strip joint, this is beginning to sound repetitive.

I’m spendin my money
I’m out of control

Here I think he’s trying to convey that he wants to stop wasting his hard earned cash (hey, rap doesn’t half pay well)

Somebody help me
She’s takin my bank roll.

Ok, so he’s spending all his money on this woman and has is bringing her to the level of a common thief, what a swine!

But I’m king of the club
And I’m wearin the crown

Obviously to signify his position as dominant male…

Poppin these bottles
Touching these models

giggity.

Watchin they **** go down down
down down, down down [this line x4]

see above…

You spin my head right round, right round
When you go down, when you go down down
You spin my head right round, right round
When you go down, when you go down down
You spin my head right round, right round
When you go down, when you go down down
You spin my head right round, right round
When you go down, when you go down down

a repeat of the chorus finishes off this song and about time too…

Leave a Reply

